How to Become a PI
Licensing Process
The following information reviews the requirements necessary for each license, permit or certificate issued by Private Protective Services. In addition, license applicants are responsible for complying with relevant North Carolina law, Private Protective Services N.C.G.S. 74-C, and the Board's Administrative Rules and Regulations under Private Protective Services 12 N.C.A.C. 7D.
 
Requirements To Obtain a License
 
All applicants must:
·         Be at least 18 years of age with a high school degree or equivalent.
·         Be a US citizen or a resident alien.
·         Be of good moral character with temperate habits (no criminal record, etc.). 
 
Private Investigator License
Three years of experience in private investigative work (equivalent of 3,000 hours), or three years in an investigative capacity as a member of a law enforcement agency or other governmental agency. [See G.S. 74C-3(a) (8), 74C-8, 74C-9, 74C-10, 12 NCAC 7D .0401]. Otherwise you may apply for an associate PI license and work under the supervision of a sponsor (another full licensee).
 
Your first step should be to contact NC Private Protective Services at 919 875-3611 and request a packet. The packet will include the requirements to obtain a license, a check sheet, an application and the laws that govern PI’s.
 
For questions contact PPSB at 919-788-5320 or see PPSB website below:
 

http://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/ba842597-cdd9-497b-aec9-638dcdeaeb10/Private-Protective-Services.aspx 

 
RocketTheme Joomla Templates

Community

NCAPI provides North Carolina private investigators with a community of colleagues that creates a culture of collaboration, learning, and fellowship.

 

Website by DataGroup

Education

NCAPI organizes regular classes, events, and conferences for the education and benefit of our members. 

Resources

The North Carolina Association of Private Investigators routinely provides valuable resources and vendor discounts for our members.